A New Year Has Begun

2013

“Every new year people make resolutions to change aspects of themselves they believe are negative. A majority of people revert back to how they were before and feel like failures. This year I challenge you to a new resolution. I challenge you to just be yourself.” -Aisha Elderwyn

Thanks to my mentor and friend who sent me this message to start the year. My resolution, which will be challenging, is to just be me…consistently. That’s going to be the hardest part, consistency.

I haven’t written in a while…well…that’s not entirely true. I have been writing, but I have not posted or shared them on this blog because it received a fair amount of internet traffic when I posted the cuffing season calendar. The increased attention spooked me because folk were visiting my site solely for something that I did not create. The increased daily views were unearned and I responded negatively to it; I simply stopped writing, waiting for the day the numbers would drop off. During that waiting period, I developed the unhealthy habit of not writing. Thus, when the hyper popularity of the cuffing season calendar ended, I continued my new learned behavior and wrote nothing. I’m sorry I did because I felt the absence of writing, a time to clear my mind and be honest with myself in a way that I find difficult to achieve during the other twenty three hours of a day.

As a result, my cluttered mind thankfully enjoys my pushing of marked alphabetical keys. My soul craves the purge and release.  So let me begin with a short piece I wrote during a pre-conference exercise that challenged the participants to think about their system of beliefs, faith, and religion:

My system of beliefs leads to believe that love is paramount, failure and mistakes are essential, and judgement and shame destroys each.

While there is an increased introspection present (sidenote: shamefully, as a nation, we are most introspective during the last few days of the year and the first few days of a new year, leaving the other 360+ days barren of self-examination…yet, we entrust ourselves to somehow make improvements during that time…nonsensical logic), I ask you, will you accept the challenge and just be you in 2013?

Leave a Reply

