Ten Random Things About Me

One of the coolest additions to Facebook was ‘Notes.’ It spawned an equally dope trend in which people would write 10-15 random things about themselves and then tag their friends to see it. I remember one of the notes almost made me cry because it was so personal and telling. I also remember wanting to do one badly, but was not sure what I would write and/or whom I would tag.

Now that I have my own blog, I do want I want. So without further ado, I present ten random things about me:

  1. I like love Golden Oreos. Seriously. My diet will forever be in shambles as long as Nabisco continues to produce this delicious crack-like substance sold openly in grocery asiles throughout our nation.
  2. I find it funny that “LOL” no longer means laugh out loud; no one really lol’s anymore even though it can easily be found perpetrating the funk fake laughing in many text inboxes, emails, and blog comments. In fact, when something does make me laugh, I now write: lol for real tho. Is this the birth of LOLFRT? I’ll let the public decide.
  3. When I was younger, about seven or so, I wanted to change my name to Jeremy. Initially, I wanted to have a cool name like Zach from Saved by the Bell. While Jeremy relied on two syllable dopeness, I liked it. I told my mom my decision and she got so mad that I would ever think about changing my name from Dwight. The push for Jeremy instantly died, but forever lives in my memory.
  4. I like corny or cheesy jokes. The cornier the better. One of my favorite jokes: Why are black people so tall? Why? Because their knee grows (Negroes). *cue the Sandman from the Apollo*
  5. I really enjoy the courting period in dating; getting to know someone. More specifically, I like first dates. The anxiety and butterflies in my stomach always feel paralyzing, yet exhilarating: never knowing what to wear; worrying about being the first one to arrive at the spot; trying not to seem too eager if you like the person; trying not to seem completely disconnected if there’s no connection present; a myriad of other things  *Note: I have never had a bad first date…well from my perspective*
  6. While I’m on the subject of dating, I do not like walking up to a woman and asking for her number. Aside from it being an awkward encounter, especially if the distance travelled is significant, there is so much pressure on those first words. I’m sweating just thinking about it. Regardless, I do it…ever once in a while. Oh and I have been curved (aka shot down) hella times.
  7. I have nine tattoos. The smallest one is on my ring finger on my right hand. The largest one spans from my entire rib cage (from my armpit to my hip) on the right side. I once got three in three weeks; it became a Friday night ritual (if rituals only lasted for three weeks) with my homie down in Houston. People never think I have tattoos because they don’t. I guess I don’t look like the type…whatever that means. I want to get a couple more…maybe a birthday present this year *rubs chins.* I also plan on doing a family orientated tattoo on my back once I have completed my family (i.e. wife and kids)
  8. My favorite sitcoms (off the top of my head, in particular order), meaning that if they are on I would watch an episode or six without hesitation: My Wife and Kids (see how my brain works), Fraiser, Martin, Seinfeld (before Cosmo Kramer Michael Richards went on his N-word rant), Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, The Cosbys, Mad About You, Everybody Hates Chris, Everybody Loves Raymond (see what I did there), Friends, Will and Grace,  Modern Family, Two and a Half Men, Big Bang, How I Met Your Mother, 30 Rock, George Lopez, Family Guy, and The Office. Did I miss anything? Oh, almost forgot The Game and Girlfriends. Judge me.
  9. I have never broken a bone, though I severely sprained my ankle back in college. As a result, I was mildly addicted to painkillers for two days (if one can have an addiction for two days). I vividly remember throwing away the pills because I am fully aware of my addictive personality.
  10. I don’t drink coffee, though I love coffee cake. And those some e-cards are hysterically funny…even if they don’t feature any black people.

 

9 thoughts on “Ten Random Things About Me

  1. I refrain from text speak, especially LOL. And when used, I am prompted to ask the person on the other end of he/she is actually, currently, laughing out loud. He/she never is.

    How could you not drink coffee?

    • I totally should have added the lying LOL to my biggest lies told in the digital age post yesterday. No one lol’s…ever

      When I was younger my mother told me that drinking coffee would gave a hard head…while I didnt know what they meant, I decided then never to drink it. Also, the smell isnt appealing.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. This is funny. I actually am LOL’ing when I say “lol”…but in real life i laugh all the time…even when it’s not socially acceptable to laugh lol…see…I actually just laughed out loud right then. But alas I’m an anomaly. And I think gummy worms are my golden oreos. I eat them till I’m sick…literally 😦

      • It’s good to know I am not alone. If I got a dollar every time someone asked me, “Why are you laughing?” I would have a lot of money. It is awkward… o_O

Leave a Reply

