Proud of My President…Again

A few years ago, Jeezy released a song, “My President is Black,” that was played, recited, and screamed at ignorant levels to show support for the then-recent election of the nation’s first bi-racial president. Recently, President Obama gave Jeezy a shout out, stating that he would sing a Jeezy song if re-elected.

While that’s dope, I digress.

Yesterday, excerpts from Obama’s interview with Robin Roberts were released and in it the President says the following:

“…at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”

Yes!

This support for progressive thinking, recognizing rights for all, is exactly what I have been waiting for since 2008! When I cast my ballot for Obama, I was entrenched in his “Hope” campaign. I believed him! I believed that he would embody the hope that our country needs in order to change and finally embody the lofty goals of democracy, and more importantly fulfill our declaration that “all men [and women] are created equal.”

And overall, I have been disappointed.

Let me clarify.

Obama has done his job as best as he could given: inheriting a record deficit while in the midst of the worst economic downtown our country had seen since the Great Depression, fighting against a House and Senate filled with ninjas that refuse to let him be great, and dealing with the misconception of a post-racial society amid consistent mistreatment of various people throughout the country.

With his comment on the Trayvon Martin shooting, and his soon to be released interview with Robin Roberts, I am once again filled with the kind of hope that captured me and our nation back in 2008. I look forward to the agenda that a second-term Obama will push; undeterred with concerns about re-election, Obama will undoubtedly do what he needs to do in order to move this country forward in its thinking and actions. This first term has been filled with doing things that he was supposed to do and say.

This next term though.

That 2012-2016 term though.

He won’t be a lame duck!

Trust!

*enthusiastically yells, “My President is Black; my [Honda’s maroon]*

Leave a comment