Slang from the 90s That I Still Use Today

The Way New Yorkers See The World

“Yo, B. It’s mad brick outside, son,” he would say with a semi-serious, semi-joking face. He disliked hated New York slang because of the pretentious New York contingent of students at [insert the best college here].  We, New Yorkers, always boasted and gloated about how amazing and special our city was, often, consciously or unconsciously, belittling the rest of the country, except for California. He hailed from a small city in Virginia and could not tolerate the elitist New York crowd. So, he took his disgust out on me via these random three minute monologues, sometimes joined by others, where he strung together as many slang words as he could.

“Yo son, dun, that’s stupid fresh,” he continued, pointing at some random object. “Word up, it’s silly fresh, B. Word. Yo, it’s crazy, dumb brick.” Brick was his favorite one to use.

While reminiscing about those nonsensical, comedic, often annoying moments, I realized that I still use a few of these slang words in my day to day vernacular. It surprised me because my slang is heavily influenced by hip hop culture, whose constant rush of fleeting songs that are only memorable for the moment (aka one-hit wonders) consequently produce forgettable sayings (and artists) like “wobble, wobble” or “a bay bay” or  a BX favorite, “lean back.”

Here are the ones that you will hear me use daily:

Hella–adopted from my Cali friends back in high school. It replaced my use of “mad.” I never vibed with the New England variant, “wicked.” It just seemed too…umm…wicked. No witchery over here, B.

Brick–this is a staple during the winter months, used to explained how cold the weather is. It produces a billow of cold air when used with a New York attitude, with the emphasis placed on the syllable.

Homie–instead of friend, I use “homie.” And my female friends are referred to as “homegirls.”  If you read this blog consistently, you would have met my lil homie. Yep, I really do use this one everyday.

Word–originally a term used by the Nation of Gods and Earths, also known as Five Percenters. The idea is that all Asiatic black men are gods (and the women are earths) and in godly conversation, one agrees with another by saying “word,” which a powerful term. I use “word” everyday because I agree with things I hear, but I also use it to question others as well (“word?”).

Dope–my absolute favorite slang word that was missing from my vocabulary for a few years, but has made a triumphant return. Anything that strikes my fancy is “dope.” When one of my friends in Chicago told me that she shared my blog with one of her black male students, my response was simply, “Dope.”

What slang words do you use on a daily basis? Please share in the comments section. It would be dope to hear what other terms the audience uses. Word.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Slang from the 90s That I Still Use Today

  1. I use all of these… Well, except for dope. I picked most up at college hanging out with a lot of nY-ers;) I’m not really super hip hop, I feel like in certain circles, I drop words like I am… Perhaps that is my insecurity at not being black enough speaking… Hmmm

Leave a Reply

