I Deserve It And You Do Too

20120311-193851.jpg

I am an English teacher; I teach students how to read and analyze text, how to write analytically and thoughtfully about literature and about themselves, and how to be the best individual that they can be. While the last proposed goal does not exist on my official job description, I find that I spend an enormous amount of time and energy helping my students become. Become who they are. One of the major lessons that I share with them is that they should treat others with respect and care because all of us are involved in some kind of life battle, many of which are private and deeply personal–(a corollary to the Golden Rule). Thus, a smile or a kind word or even basic respect can make a difference in someone’s day, week, month, year, or life.

Below is a quote from Christian D. Larson. I have no idea who that is, but while in some store, I saw a fridge magnet with the following quote and impulsively bought it because the message struck me:

Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind. Look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true. Think only of the best, work only for the best, and expect only the best. Forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future. Give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others. Live in the faith that the whole world is on your side so long as you are true to the best that is in you!

Easier said than done, but worth saying. I will keep promising, looking, thinking, forgetting, giving, and living for that peace, optimistic sunny side, the best, future achievements, self-improvement, and truth in me. I deserve it!

Hopefully, this message was exactly what you need to hear and/or say aloud to yourself as you prep yourself for your upcoming, pending battle.

Keep promising, looking, thinking, forgetting, giving, and living for that peace, optimistic sunny side, the best, future achievements, self-improvement, and truth in you. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

