My Crush

I have a huge crush on Liz Lemon Tina Fey. She is the lead writer for NBC’s critically acclaimed show, “30 Rock.”Her character, Liz Lemon, is a socially awkward, talented writer who is described in the first episode as a “New York third-wave feminist, college-educated, single-and-pretending-to-be-happy-about-it, over-scheduled, undersexed, you buy any magazine that says ‘healthy body image’ on the cover and every two years you take up knitting for…a week.” And she makes me swoon with her stress eating, non-traditional feminine interests, and long list of phobias.

Since it’s Friday, I decided to share with you a few of my favorite Liz Lemon quotes.

“Did you really think I wouldn’t recognize my college futon, with its trademark absence of sex stains?”

“For instance, Jack taught me not to wear tan slacks with a tan turtleneck. I thought it looked nice, but he, rightly, pointed out that it made me look like a giant condom.”

“If I could push a button and five people in the world would die, but I’d get free cable for life, I’d do it.”

“I will not calm down! Women are allowed to get angrier than men about double standards”

“I’m going to tell Drew that I’m having a little welcome-to-the-building party for him, but there is no party and then when he shows up I’ll laugh and say, ‘Oh it’s the wrong night.’ And then he’ll laugh and say, ‘One glass couldn’t hurt,’ and then I will put my mouth on his mouth.”

“Tracy took advantage of my white guilt, which is supposed to be used only for good, like overtipping and supporting Barack Obama.”

[Regarding her religion] ” Hmm, I pretty much just do whatever Oprah tells me to.”

” Who hasn’t made mistakes? I once French kissed a dog at a party to try to impress what turned out to be a very tall 12-year-old.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

