Top Five Hip Hop Songs Played in a Predominantly White Parties

The other night, while down in the Lower East Side (LES), I went to a predominantly White bar to meet up with a few college friends. Upon entering said establishment, I quickly noticed drunk people dancing (with glow sticks), smelled a cheap beer aroma, and felt every degree of my personal space invaded. I had been here before, my mind screamed. No, I had never been to this particular bar, but it had all the symptoms of a White college frat party. While I won’t embarrass myself or offend any fraternity by pretending to remember its name or Greek letters, I do remember those college nights in some large room filled with drunk people, inebriated by cheap beer and cheaper alcohol (we all bought that $12 handle of Popov vodka), preparing to make poor decisions as the night grew old and their inhibitions plummeted. I can still feel the stickiness of the beer soaked floor on my sneakers as I tried to pry my foot loose and take another step. I also remember the music! It always fascinated which hip hop/rap songs dominated the airwaves during the collective drunken stupor. I was reminded of those musical selections the other night. Here are the top five hip hop songs played in a predominantly white setting:

Honorable Mention:

Jay-Z, “New York”

Jay-Z definitely hit the lottery with this track. It was so popular, especially in New York City. How popular? Fifth graders sang this song at their graduation. Yep, Jay-Z made it to the graduation playlist. Only reason why it is not a top five is because it has yet to stand the test of time. Will the wild frat party-goers want to hear this in 2020? Not sure. The only knock against it is that one cannot party and dance wildly to it.

5. Nelly, “Hot in Herre” and 50 Cent, “In da club”

50 Cent had everyone, grandparents included, chanting, “Go Shorty, it’s your birthday!” Meanwhile, Nelly had everyone, grandparents included, pondering, “Girl, I think my butt getting big.” Shout out to both artists for pinpointing every night in the club or bar; it is always hot and it is always someone’s birthday. Oh and let’s not talk about the misspelled words in the title; it added that much needed street cred or something like that.

4. Young MC, “Bust a Move”

Yep, Young MC is living somewhere chillin’ off this one record. I am always shocked at how many people, White guys, know the words to this ugh..classic…record.One time this dude seemed disappointed in my blackness because I did not know the words.

3. Naughty by Nature, “Hip Hop Hooray”

Treach, Vin Rock, and their DJ will forever be remembered because their joint causes random, infectious arm raising and subsequent arm swaying. Definitely a song that gets the party moving. The verses are not as easy to remember, but once that chorus comes on, put in your earplugs because everyone, and their grannies, knows that refrain.

2. Sir Mix A Lot, “Baby Got Back”

“Oh my god, Becky! Look at her butt.” Although skinny models are praised and idolized, Sir Mix A Lot tapped (no pun intended) into the man’s psyche and brought forward this classic tune about the male infatuation with a plump, rotund bottoms. And remember this song is ringing off at the White spots. Ladies, do them lunges. Please and thank you.

1. House of Pain, “Jump Around”

Was there any doubt that this would be number one? Irish rappers, infectious hip hop/rock beat, and the simplest of easy dance moves ever. The stereotype that White people cannot dance does not count with this song. Jump around!

Do you agree? What song did I leave off the list? Let me know in the comments section.