A Real New Yorker

Though I was not born in New York, I consider myself to be a New Yorker. After all, I have lived here for the majority of my twenty-eight years; I am a die hard Yankee fan, and loyal Giants fan. I know I should keep the NY love fest going for the Knicks, but my heart was broken into a million pieces with Patrick Ewing’s missed layup attempt as time expired in the 1995 Game 7 against the hated Indiana Pacers. I have a hard time getting over hurt, which is a topic for a future post.

Sorry, I digress.

As a New Yorker, I am always blown away by how much of the city, specifically its history, I do not know. Today, for example, I took a few students on a field trip to Grand Central Station and the Public Library, the one adorned with the two lions, Patience and Fortitude. Yep, I learned that today. While in the train station, I noticed that there was a young man dancing. In his ears were the ever popular and now typical white iphone or ipod earphones. From their buds roared some song that touched him, made him move to the beat. To a casual passerby, he seemed crazy and odd. Honestly, more than anything, he seemed to be having fun. The expression on his face was pure elation. In between his tough and jerky body movements, he demonstrated a warmth and excitement as his body swayed and dipped to the musical notes only he could hear. I was tempted to join him, but did not do so because I had students with me. Who am I kidding? I did not do it because I did not want others to think that I was weird and other dismissive adjectives we use to describe people who are different. Then, it struck me. Here was a real New Yorker; He exhibited that I-don’t-care attitude, a live-and-let-live persona, a what-you-going to-do-about-it disposition. He was doing what made him happy and seemingly could care less if he stood out or if he was ridiculed.

Like always, my mind quickly reached back into its vast cyclic drums known as memory and reminded me of the first TED Talk I ever saw. The following video is about leadership. It takes us through the formation of a movement in roughly three minutes. I love it. Check it out and think about leadership and how you are/can be a leader in your own life. Hopefully, you notice that you are/can be like the dancing man in Grand Central, a real New Yorker.

 

One thought on “A Real New Yorker

Leave a Reply

