Job Application

“Hey, Mr. Man.”

“Hey, Daddy.”

“How was your day, Big Boy?”

“Good.”

“What are you doing?”

“Filling out an application”

Wait, what? I think. Did my son just tell me that he is filling out an application.

“Did you say, ‘filling out an application?'” I question. “For what?”

“For a job,” he answers nonchalantly.

“A job? What kind of job?”

“I am filling out applications for jobs in my class, Daddy,” he says as if I should already know this. I guess he picked up on my not so subtle confusion.

“Oh, ok. And what job do you want?”

“I want to be the Greeter Leader, but I don’t know what to put for my third reason,” he briefly whines.

After he quickly explains the responsibilities of a Greeter Leader, I reassure him that he would be excellent at it because he is a people’s person. The noise and activity on the other end of the phone call suddenly goes dead. Silence. “What does that mean, Daddy?” he questions.

I explain to him that a people’s person is someone that many people like because they are often kind. I then ask if he thinks that describes him. He answers, “I think so” with a heavy tone of unsureness. His statement ends with an up tone, so it sounds as if he is asking a question.

He then decides that he has found his third reason. I dictate to him, “I am a nice and kind person to new people.”

He recites while he write.

I. Am. A. Daddy, how do you spell nice? Sound it out. Nice. And kind. I don’t want to add that part, Daddy because it is the same as nice. But I think it would make your sentence stronger. My mommy says that I do not have to add it if I do not want to, and I don’t want to. To. New. People.

So, I ask him, when he is finished with his job application, when will he find out if he got the job. “Not until Monday, I think, Daddy,” he responds. With a new sense of excitement, he says, “And Daddy, I also applied for four other jobs too.”

I hope he gets the job as the Greeter Leader and can welcome new people, often parents and visitors, to his kindergarten classroom. It is never too early to learn responsibility, even if it requires a five year old filling out a job application.

Leave a Reply

